Dec. 6 – A Christmas Tune…

Dec. 6

 That Spirit of Christmas (right-click on the file for download)

So during the Christmas season of ’89 I sat in a theater and watch for the first time “Christmas Vacation” staring Chevy Chase!  I must admit that while that was the first time, it was, nor will it be the last!  I watch it each Thanksgiving with my brother-in-law, then I catch it somewhere on the many TV stations that play it, then after all the gifts are done on Christmas Eve…well I fall asleep watching it.

While the movie is riddled with many great scenes…one of my favorites is while “Clark” is in the attic.  The slap stick comedy aside (the attic boards hitting him in the face!) I love the part of him in the nostalgic clothing.  There he is watching home movies of Christmas’s past (I have my parent’s old projector that he is using!) and simply smiling and crying.  The tune that is playing is titled “The Spirit of Christmas” by Brother Ray Charles.

Brother Ray released one of the finest secular Christmas album of the 1980s by a country mile. He produced this album with his classic soulful, blues-drenched jazz sound. The hippest of Christmas sets, this one also has plenty of room for Charles’ open-hearted, humanistic approach (listen to “That Spirit of Christmas” and “All I Want for Christmas”). Ray’s version of “Winter Wonderland” is still heard every year in When Harry Met Sally, and “Baby It’s Cold Outside” is a bonus cut culled from Charles’ classic duets record with Betty Carter.

As you hear today’s tune take time to recall your fondest Christmas memories with those that are no longer here with us!  Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Christmas Tunes 2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

