Nov 1 – 30 Days of Thanksgiving

It has been quite sometime since I have posted and/or updated this blog.  Over the next 30 days I will try my best to reflect on why the past 10 months of 2013 and why I/we are thankful.

I am first and foremost very thankful for being able to serve my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  This has been a full year of ministry and one that shows no signs of slowing down.  UABC continues to both grow and sustain and it is a place I continue to enjoy. Other ministry ventures from camps, missions and ministry writings have kept me busy as well.

The family and the kids are well…growing like weeds.  Grant has started high school, Sara started her last year of elementary school while at the same time Allan has started Kindergarten!  Mary is still at Richland Elementary and teaching in the 4th grade.

So there it is a very quick easy snapshot of what is going on. About the same, but just a year older.

photo

Today I got to go to the zoo.  It was not just your ordinary trip to the zoo!  It was with Allan’s class – 21 5-6yr olds screaming at the animals.  I was responsible for Allan and a friend, Henry. The day was great until…Henry got stung by some type of insect on his tongue.  Yes his tongue! From that moment on it was I want my teacher, I need to see the nurse. Meanwhile Allan was like get over it, there are the sea lions!

As I sit and observed the chaos of the day I simply thought – I am blessed. I should be very thankful that I am sitting here on a beautiful fall day watching a kid pull on his swollen tongue. And you know what I am thankful.

In all we do we are called to Worship, to offer our bodies as a living sacrifice (Rom. 12:1-2) today let me remind you, as well as remind myself, to look at your heart and your life, and ask yourself some questions – in God’s presence in prayer.

  • Are you totally surrendered to him in worship – in thought, word, and action?
  • Do you conform to the world in significant (ie. sinful) ways,
  • or are you truly allowing the truth of the gospel to transform and change you to be more like Jesus?

Talk to God honestly about this, and ask Him to help you respond to Jesus in the way that this passage lays out.  Jesus wants nothing less from you!

So during a month that ends with Thanksgiving…what are you thankful for?

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Thanksgiving - 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

