Day 14 – 30 Days of Thanksgiving

Monday November 14, 2011

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. Psalms 139:23 (HCSB)

Is it even possible to sit in silence today?  I mean come on as I was typing this my phone rang twice, I got serval e-mails, and I even checked Facebook!  What exactly is silence?

The psalmist approaches God and ask Him to search Him and to know his heart, test me and know my concerns.  I really don’t know if I could pray that prayer.  God already knows my heart and thoughts, but to ask Him…to give Him permission, I just not sure.  But what if it was the other way around.  What if we took time to get to know Him, if we simply just took a moment to be quite.  Today let me encourage you to be thankful for silence and to be thankful that God knows your heart.

11/4 – Thank God for Silence. Due to the fast pace of our lives these days, most of us have forgotten the gifts of silence and reflection. Take a few minutes sometime today, find a quiet spot and think of things you are grateful for.

This entry was posted in Thanksgiving - 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

